Seven scouts achieve Eagle Scout status

Posted on 13 November 2013 by robwas66

Eagle11_13_IOCSeven young men from Boy Scout troop 9243, chartered by Jehovah Lutheran Church, will receive Eagle Scout awards in December. The troop is in the North Star District of Boy Scouts of America. The Eagle Scout award is the highest achievement that a Boy Scout can receive. In order to obtain this award, the young men must complete many merit badges including community and world citizenship, outdoor activities, emergency preparedness, personal fitness, camping and more.

Recipients are Jared Bluhm, attending the University of Minnesota; Jacob Goodale, working at Lund’s and planning to attend St. Paul College; Kaiden Hanan-Parker, in the Army National Guard and planning to attend Concordia University in St. Paul; Connor Heck, attending Concordia University in Mequon, WI.; David Kolar, attending St. Paul College; Derek Murray, attending Minnesota State University in Moorhead; and Matthew Westpfahl, attending St. Paul College.

Their leaders have included Brian Kruchowski, Jeff Strasser and Sandy Kolar at the Cub Scout level; and Jerry Gagner, Debbie Gagner and Sean Murray at the Boy Scout level. Jerry Gagner, who has devoted more than 37 years to the Boy Scouts of America, has helped more than 20 percent of Scouts under his direction achieve Eagle Scout status, compared with a national average of 7 percent.

2019 Midway Chamber Directory