Categorized | IN OUR COMMUNITY

Three HU faculty win book awards at ALA Midwinter Conference

Posted on 11 February 2019 by Calvin

Three Hamline University Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing for Children and Young Adults (MFAC) faculty members won national book awards for their works of fiction at the recent American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Conference in Seattle.

Meg Medina won the 2019 John Newbery Medal for her novel “Merci Suárez Changes Gears.” The John Newbery Medal is awarded by the American Library Association to the “most distinguished children’s book” published every year.

Elana K. Arnold’s novel “Damsel” was selected as a Michael L. Printz Honor Book. The Michael L. Printz Award and Honor Books are ALA honors given for the best books written for teens each year.

Emily Jenkins won the Sydney Taylor Book Award from the Association of Jewish Libraries for her picture book, “All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah,” illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky. The award recognizes a work of literature for children and teens that authentically portrays the Jewish experience.

“This continues an impressive run for our MFAC faculty,” said Mary Rockcastle, who directs The Creative Writing Programs at Hamline University.

“Nina LaCour won the Printz Award last year, and Kelly Barnhill won the Newbery Award two years ago. Several faculty have also been National Book Award finalists.”

Hamline’s MFAC faculty are award-winning authors, experienced teachers, and committed faculty mentors. The program is focused on helping students develop the process and craft of writing in a rigorous, engaged, and supportive environment.




Chanhassen Dinner Theater
FixIt Clinic

FixIt Clinic

St. Paul Ballet

Discovery Club
Discovery Club
Discovery Club

Nilles-Filler Combo Online ad