New year brings new board members to Hamline Midway Coalition


The Hamline Midway Coalition (HMC) Board of Directors welcomes newly elected members David Albornoz (subdistrict A), Nneka Constantino (subdistrict B), and Karl Hahn (at-large), and returning members Steve Samuelson (subdistrict B) and Scott Kruger (subdistrict C), who currently serves as HMC’s president.
The Hamline Midway Coalition launched the election with a call for candidates in October followed by an socially distanced in-person information session at Burning Brothers on Oct. 15 and an online social hour on Oct. 28, 2020. Voting began on Nov. 25, the day after the coalition’s annual meeting. The election concluded on Dec. 11. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, unlike in years past, voting took place entirely online. Community participation in the election rose from 75 voters in 2019 to 120 voters in 2020.
“New board members will strengthen projects such as the neighborhood plan and the investment cooperative projects and provide additional support to the environment, transportation and development committees,” said Kate Mudge, HMC Executive Director.
Albornoz, Constantino, Hahn, Samuelson and Kruger will begin their terms at the next meeting on Jan. 26, 2021 at 6:15 p.m. For more information about these meetings and other events, please see the HMC News and Events webpage.
HMC is District Council 11, one of 17 non-profit agencies charged by the city of Saint Paul to represent local neighborhood’s needs around transportation, land use, and community development. However, like many district councils, HMC’s reach is far broader and includes initiatives for safer streets, the previously mentioned investment co-operative, and support for resident-led initiatives in the community.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here